Adding Wowhead tooltips to any website

Hi Folks,

I use Google Reader for most of the blogs I follow, which has a side effect of removing all the javascript that allows Wowhead tooltips. I find this a bit annoying, so I added scripting support to my browser to work around it.

While I was at it, I added my own blog URL so that I get tooltips here as well, without having to leave the default WordPress  site :)

Here’s how I did it.

Since I’m using Google Chrome as my browser, I used the addon called Tampermonkey to allow the injection of scripts into sites I specify. If you use Firefox, then GreaseMonkey is the addon of choice for this.

Once I installed the addon, I added the following script. The only editing I did was to add the URLs in the comments at the top. This makes the script run on those sites.
You can find new scripts on userscripts.org (read them carefully) – here’s the location of Wowhead Google Reader.

 

and here’s the results of looking at it in my blog and in Google Reader:

 

 

I hope some people find this useful!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adding Wowhead tooltips to any website

  1. I just got this working in Opera, thanks for the inspiration. I downloaded power.js from Wowhead into a dir for custom scripts, mine was c:\power. I then renamed it to “power.user.js”. Then from Opera when on the google reader page, right click, select Edit Site Preferences…, click the Scripting tab and on the box at the bottom labelled “User Javascript files” click the “Choose” button and select the aforementioned directory from the file browser.Now I can has WoW Head tooltips in Google reader. I’m pretty sure from the general Advanced preferences one can set this directory for all sites so get wowhead tooltips on any website.

  2. Cy says:

    Sweet.. and for those too lazy to type out the changes (or don;t want to risk typos) the two additional lines are (for copy and pasting)

    // @include https://eaoexcursions.wordpress.com/*
    // @include http://eaoexcursions.wordpress.com/*

  3. Tiago says:

    Hello. Thank you so much for your tip. However, I can’t get Tampermonkey to work with secure (https) sites, both the Google Reader or your blog. Do you have any idea why this might happen?

    Thanks so much :)

Leave a Reply

