Dell support

On the weekend my laptop had a bit of a conniption. The video card totally died and the machine would not boot up.

I have a Dell XPS M1730 which is well out of warranty now, I bought it over 3 years ago. I hadn’t had any issues with it up until this point but I gather there are a number of common hardware problems with that particular model.

My natural response was to look up the service manual and start taking it apart. Then common sense kicked in, and I rang Dell support on the off-chance that I could get some parts without having to pay too much.

After about 15 minutes on the phone to support and several diagnostic tests, the support representative said, “It’s a graphics card problem. I’ll get a new one sent out to you and installed on the next business day.” I sat there in stunned silence for about 3 seconds and then said, “Thanks! How much will that cost?” and the response was, “It’s complimentary.” Once again I lapsed into stunned silence. My warranty ran out in 2009 and I had trouble believing that new hardware would be free.

But sure enough, a Dell technician came to work today and replaced the graphics card and the keyboard (which was suffering from over 3 years of work and WoW). She also arranged for a new power supply and motherboard to be delivered and installed later in the week, since I also have some trouble with the power cable. And guess how much that will cost? That’s right, nothing!

I’ve never had a support experience this good from any vendor. All the software engineers in my office were pretty impressed as well! I did have to keep a couple of them from poking about in the bits of my laptop while the technician pulled it apart though 🙂

This has been a fantastic result, since I wasn’t looking forward to paying for a new laptop right now. With all the replacement hardware I can probably get a few more years out of this machine, which will be great. At least I can run multiple virtual machines on the laptop, which is better than my work desktop…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dell support

  1. Goodmongo says:

    How did this happen? When my wife’s Dell laptop bought it they said “Sorry”. It was a MB and/or PS issue but would cost me money to even find out.

    • Antony says:

      I think it was because I bought the XPS model (that translates into paying too much money at the time…) and there is a 1 time free support call with that model. I just hadn’t used that support call until now.
      There were also a couple of very common hardware faults in the Nvidia 8700 graphics card – I think Nvidia did a recall on those at some point. I’m certain that was a contributing factor.

  2. Gilbert says:

    Because this model has a problem, that has been acknowledge by Nvidia to Dell. Nvidia gave Dell new cards, and Dell replaces them for free because they have a built defect. Nvidia is paying from its pocket to have it changed. Dell does it because it doesn’t cost them a dime. Also, they know that gamers that buy XPS hardware are people that spent a lot of money on hardware, and like to have good stuff. So taking care of people that are willing to put a lot of money into a gaming rig is a clever move. Because when those people buy stuff, they don’t go cheap : they go performance.

Leave a Reply

