Looking for raid and you

How are you planning to use the looking for raid tool?

I see it as an opportunity for many guild organized activities. I’m sure that individuals will use it as a chance to learn fights, obtain tier 13 gear and get some Valor points (for clearing 4 bosses), but that’s not quite as interesting to me as the other possibilities.

As guild leader of a large guild, I want to arrange guild activities when I can. There are currently three 10-man raid teams and a rated battleground team, but that still leaves many guild members out of regular activities. I see the raid finder as an opportunity for more guildies to see a raid – mainly the ones who are not in the raid teams.

I’m hoping that I can arrange a night where we get 25 guildies together who are near enough to geared up and down a boss or two in the looking for raid difficulty. If half of the group are made up of the regular raid teams, then it should go a little smoother. This will be a good way to get some loot for casual members and encourage more group activities. If we can fill a full 25 man raid with guildies that would be even better.

I’ve noticed that the dungeon finder has a distinct effect on guild dynamics. Many guild members will do dailies while queueing for an instance, rather than putting a call out in guild chat. Hopefully an organized looking for raid run will get more people interacting with other guild members.

Soon after patch 4.3 I expect that some of the raid teams will use the looking for raid tool to learn fights, but since it’s 25 man raids and we only have 10 man teams, I don’t expect this to last long. I feel its more likely that my guildies will go into the new difficulty in groups of 2-3 before raid night just to check it out and then be ready for the 10 man raids at the regular time. I know I won’t be requiring that my raiders spend extra time in the different difficulty – especially since the loot is different and the fact that 25 man raids can be a bit of a mess if not organized well.
That said, I’ll probably be queuing here myself to try and get some tier pieces early…

I’m looking forward to the lower difficulty of the raid finder. In Wrath of the Lich King I ran 25 man raids with my guildies after the 30% buff went live. These were time limited (2 hours) and anyone could come as long as they had roughly ok gear (that meant mostly epics at that point in the expansion). Those raids still get mentioned fondly in guild chat, and I’m hoping to repeat the experience. At the moment the difficulty of the raids really prevents running this kind of event, since about 30% of the people there hadn’t raided before. Running the previous tier of raids would work, but I’ve had trouble getting enough interest from the regular raiders to support the event. Combined with my low tolerance for pugging this meant that the events have never happened – I hope the raid finder will fix that!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking for raid and you

  1. Phantasms says:

    Hey Eao,

    I’m still a bit ambivalent about the whole raid finder thing, so it’s interesting to read your point of view.

    I have a concern about the raid finder, but I think this will become more of an issue in the MoP ex-pack in particular in the first tier of raiding. Blizzard have stated that the gear/skill check for the opening tier will be the raid finder, rather than the Heroic dungeons, which confuses me a little as I thought that was kind of the whole point.

    “In Cataclysm, Heroic dungeons were intentionally designed as gear and difficulty checks on the progression to raiding. In Mists of Pandaria, the Raid Finder will be the appropriate transition from running dungeons to Normal raids. Heroic dungeons will largely be tuned to be about as difficult as they were in Wrath of the Lich King, ”
    http://us.battle.net/blizzcon/en/blog/3759858/WoW_Dungeons_and_Raids_Panel-10_21_2011#blog

    It seems to me that we now have to run dungeons to get the gear to run heroic dungeons… to get the gear to run raid finder dungeons… to get the gear to raid. That seems like a monumental pain in the proverbial.

    The only reason I run dungeons anymore is for materials for enchanting and to cap off what valour I have left and the reason is that I have very little time for PUGs and heroics are pretty much a guaranteed success, where as the whole reason that I like raiding is because success is anything but a guarantee plus the group I run with are an awesome bunch of awesomes, as you know.

    The idea that you need to run an easy mode version to be able to the normal seems redundant, however, your point about it engaging the more casual focused in our guild is received, and I genuinely hope that is the case.
    [/rant]

    tl:dr? Yeah, me neither… =D

    Peace.

    -P

    • Antony says:

      Hi Phants,

      For your MoP concerns, I have read that there will be no dungeons at level 90 that are not heroics. So there will be nothing like Grim Batol and Halls of Origination, where the instance is tuned for max level characters. So we shouldn’t need to run normal mode instances at level cap in order to get into heroics – quest gear and gear from instances while levelling should be sufficient. That cuts out one of the steps in the gearing process.

      I think that Blizzard have learned a lesson in Cataclysm. I’ve seen it in our guild and had other people comment on it too. For a long time (really until 4.2 hit) heroic instances were so hard that many players found them too hard and didn’t do them. I can think of at least half a dozen guildies who were in this category. Once people outgeared them it was ok, but that took a long time. I also know at least 4 people who left the game mainly because of the difficulty of the instances. This doesn’t really apply to the raiders, but I know the difficulty affected us too. I was guilty of whispering people to form instance groups instead of putting calls out in guild chat because I wanted to make sure the run was as painless as possible.
      I think the new model is trying to appeal to as many people as possible, and non-raiders can do more without having to deal with the difficulty of preparing for raids. Entering the raid finder is a decision that says, “I want to raid and deal with the difficulties of that” – so I like the fact that there are more options for everyone at max level.

      For you and me, we’ll still probably only run dungeons to get the last few Valor points and crafting materials 🙂 I expect you to heal me through dungeon challenges though, while I run as fast as I can!

      cheers,
      Eao

Leave a Reply

